Your job is to ruin them...

and other Wednesday musings

Welcome to Social Studies.

Today:

  • Looking for a new gig?

  • Your job is to ruin them...

  • Brought to you by…

Looking for a new gig?

Looking for a new gig?

Enter Teal.

I used to Teal to land my current job as Head of Social at Benzinga.

Teal is an all-in-one, AI-powered career growth platform that helps you tailor your resume, track your applications, optimize your LinkedIn profile, and more, so you can land a job faster.

Over one million people (including me) have turned to Teal to navigate their job search—and you can, too.

Get started here.

In the spirit of job hunting…

I’ve compiled some open roles in the social media space.

One of the roles is with the OKC Thunder. I lived in OKC for 3 years and LOVED it!

Your job is to ruin them…

I used to work at Tyson Foods.

You might be familiar with our Dino Nuggets. 😂 

I learned so much at that job.

I learned how to pitch ideas to leadership.

I learned how to navigate competing interests.

I learned how to adapt to a totally new industry.

Towards the end of my time there I took a class called Tyson University 100 where this dude named Dennis taught a bunch of us about our product lines.

Dennis was the AMAZING. One of the most enthusiastic and knowledgeable people I’ve ever met.

He’s probably forgotten more about protein than I’ll ever know.

He was very clear at the beginning, “You’re going to be sampling a lot of food over the next couple of days. Take 1 or 2 bites of each thing and don’t go overboard.”

I took that as a personal challenge.

By the end of the second day, I’d consumed something to the tune of 6 chicken patties, 14 chicken tenders, 9 strips of bacon, 5 breakfast sausage patties, 7 dinner sausages, 12 pepperoni slices, 6 other pizza toppings, 3 hot dogs, 4 different philly steaks samples, 8 boneless wings and another 8 bone-in wings.

Oh.. don’t forget the Bosco sticks and Crispitos. 😋 

First up was chicken breasts.

Maybe you’re like I was and you think a chicken breast is a chicken breast is a chicken breast.

Like I was… you would be incorrect.

The first sample was your basic chicken breast.

Nothing to write home about.

Certainly wasn’t bad, but I would never be writing a newsletter to thousands of social media pros about it.

The next sample was a mid-tier.

Same story.

The third sample was the Tyson True Tenderpressed.

I’ll save you the details of the technical process of how this product is prepared, but let me tell you… it was good. Real good.

So good in fact that when I went home and cooked dinner I was incredibly unsatisfied with my meal.

I had tasted the Mona Lisa of chicken breasts. I could never go back.

I was forever ruined for anything less than the best.

That’s our job as social media pros…

As the first and most frequent touchpoint between our brand and the audience, we have a responsibility to put out content that is so good that they couldn’t imagine consuming anything else.

I’ve talked a lot about my buddy Leif who restores high end furniture. (Like $15,000 desks 🤯)

Leif was gracious enough to host a Social Studies community event with me where he talked about turning virality into profitability.

He told me about a DM he just got from an Instagram follower.

It said, “Hey Leif! I’m in the market for an XYZ chair. Can you let me know when you have one available? I could buy it elsewhere, but I want to wait until I can buy it from you. Your content has been so helpful and inspirational that you are the only person I trust to do this.”

THAT’S the power of ruining your audience.